August 7, 2018

The American Academy of Water Resources Engineers proudly announce the launch of the AAWRE Outstanding Research and Innovation Award. The new AAWRE award was formally approved by the AAWRE Board of Trustees during the AAWRE Board business meeting in Minneapolis on June 2. The AAWRE Outstanding Research and Innovation Award is established to recognize a Diplomate who has demonstrated significant academic contributions based on one or more of the following:

·     Impact of the research on society and academe in the disciplines of water resources engineering.
·     National and international recognition (awards, invited talks, editorships, etc.)
·     Scholarship (publications, citation records, patents, etc.)

This new award will be given to a Diplomate of AAWRE who has made a significant contribution through either research, single outstanding achievement, or through a body of work on water resources engineering or related fields.

Nominees must be Diplomates in good standing of the Academy and AAWRE Board members are not eligible for the award.

This new award will be the third AAWRE award launched since the creation of the AAWRE Outstanding Practitioner in Water Resources Engineering Award in 2014 and the AAWRE Service to the Academy Award in 2015.

Each year, AAWRE will solicit and receive nominations from the Diplomates of the Academy. Such nominations shall be received in the form of a nominating letter to the AAWRE Awards Committee, official nomination form, and at least two letters from Diplomates supporting the nomination. The AAWRE Awards Committee also may submit nominations for consideration.

The call for nominations is now open and all nominations should be submitted to AAWRE at [email protected] by January 15, 2019.

The Inaugural AAWRE Outstanding Research and Innovation Award will be presented at the AAWRE Induction & Awards Ceremony on May 20 during the 2019 EWRI World Environmental & Water Resources Congress in Pittsburgh, PA. The award consists of a plaque.

  AAWRE is grateful for the work and dedication of the AAWRE Awards Committee to help establish this award:

Rao Govindaraju, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE ‐ Chair
Don Frevert, P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE
Jonathan Jones, P.E., P.H., D.WRE, M.ASCE
Joe Manous, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE, F.EWRI, Board Liaison