The AAWRE Board of Trustees govern the affairs, activities, and business of the Academy in accordance with the laws under which the Academy is organized. The Board of Trustees have fiduciary and strategic responsibilities to: focus on continuous strategic planning; determine desired outcomes; develop and approve appropriate policies, rules, and operating procedures; guide operations; monitor the Academy’s work toward meeting its objectives; monitor and manage the financial transactions of the Academy; adopt positions on issues on professional practice.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of nine voting trustees and two non-voting trustees: President (voting), President-Elect (voting), Past-President (voting), Treasurer (voting), Four Trustees (voting), Public Trustee (voting), EWRI Ex-Officio (non-voting), Secretary (non-voting).

AAWRE Board of Trustees

James Barton, P.E., D.WRE (Ret.)
Fernandina Beach, FL

Findlay G. Edwards, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
Fayetteville, AR

Paul F. Boulos, Ph.D., Dist.D.NE, Hon.D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE
Denver, CO

John F. England, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., P.H., D.WRE, F.ASCE
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Lakewood, CO

At Large Trustees
Pascale Champagne, Ph.D., P.Eng, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
National Research Council Canada - Government of Canada
Lac-Beauport, Quebec

Dennis L. Richards, P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
Chandler, AZ

Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.WEF, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
Florida International University
Miami, FL

David T. Williams, Ph.D., P.E., P.H., CFM, D.WRE, F.ASCE
David T. Williams and Associates, Engineers, LLC
Commerce City, CO

EWRI President
Holly Piza, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
Mile High Flood District
Denver, CO

Public Trustee
John Kevin Ward, A.M.ASCE
Trinity River Authority
Arlington, TX

Franklin Kim, ENV SP
Reston, VA