February 15, 2018

Dr. Jerry Rogers, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE has been announced as the recipient of the 2018 AAWRE Service to the Academy Award. Dr. Rogers is recognized for his significant contributions and work in furthering the mission and goals of the Academy, since the launch of the AAWRE in 2004. Dr. Rogers is the 4th recipient of the award.

The AAWRE Service to the Academy Award was instituted by AAWRE in October 2014 to recognize a Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer that exemplifies leadership and service to the American Academy of Water Resources Engineers. This award is given annually to a Diplomate of AAWRE who has demonstrated outstanding and extensive service or contributions to the Academy.

Dr. Rogers is a retired professor emeritus at the University of Houston, where he taught civil & environmental engineering from 1970-2013. Dr. Rogers is a founding member of the AAWRE Board of Trustees and participated on the AAWRE Admissions Committee from 2006-2015. He was also one of the founding members of the ASCE Environmental & Water Resources Institute (EWRI), having served on the former ASCE Water Resources Planning & Management Division. Jerry helped launch the EWRI History & Heritage Committee, serving as Chair and was awarded the EWRI Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Jerry is a life member of ASCE, serving on the ASCE National Board and being elected as a Distinguished Member in 2008. Jerry also served as president of the ASCE Texas and ASCE Houston Brach section and served as president of the American Water Resources Association. He currently serves as president of the Civil Engineering Certification (CEC).

Among Jerry’s achievements and honors include, serving as chair of First National ASCE Education Congress in 1999; ASCE Civil Engineering History and Heritage Award in 2010; Houston Engineer of the Year from National Society for Professional Engineers in 1996; ASCE Texas Section Lifetime Service Award in 2008; and the ASCE William H. Wisely American Civil Engineer Award in 1997.

Jerry remarked on his recognition:

“I thank the AAWRE Board of Trustees and particularly the award nominators Kyle Schilling, P.E., D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE and Dr. Yacov Haimes, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE (long time leaders in the ASCE Water Resources Planning and Management Division and now EWRI). The AAWRE 2018 Service to the Academy Award will be treasured.

I enjoyed working with the first 2004 AAWRE Board of Trustees with Michael Ports, P.E., BCEE, D.NE, D.WRE, F.ASCE and moving on to Civil Engineering Certification- coordinator of the ASCE Academies, and possibly the new transportation AATDP.”

Dr. Rogers will be presented with the Service Award at the 2018 AAWRE Diplomate Induction & Awards Ceremony on June 4 at the EWRI 2018 World Environmental & Water Resources Congress in Minneapolis.

>To send a congratulatory note to Jerry